In the Car

Back in the day cassette tapes and the radio was where it was at for cruising down the road. My father would pop on an oldie station or perhaps NPR and we’d head off to where ever it was at the other end of the paved concrete. My mom would pop in a tape and listen to easy music or she’d just turn the thing down and we’d talk the whole way.

My first MP3 Player. From Neuros, it had a built in FM Transmitter.Time passed and technology grew, but when we tried a CD player in the car (perhaps a year or two after they came out) it skipped so much we hardly ever used it. Soon mp3 players were out and FM transmitter’s were pretty cool for a while, or you could always use a tape adapter. Cool devices, only one that I know of actually, had FM transmitter’s built in, making it easy to get your music into your car stereo.

Now, I started driving as soon as I could, and to make my car truly mine (my parents still owned it, actually) I’ve attempted to use many of these techniques. I’ve owned various MP3 players, and most have broken at one point, including the one with the FM transmitter built in. Bummer.

So I relied on an external FM transmitter, which was later cracked open and hacked to deliver better performance. When the air waves got too choppy and the transmitter started to perform poorly I reverted back to using a tape adapter, which I probably have hooked up to both CD players and MP3 players. Only recently have I tried using an installed cd player, and this is a Sony Xplod that I bought and put in myself (one of the main reasons was for its bluetooth functions).

As it is I’m very pleased with my Sony stereo. It has given me no problems. I enjoy being able to pop in a CD and then hitting the “Display” button to see what the album title is in case I forgot, or what the track name is (you know how it is when you listen to CDs; you forget the track names over time). It also has bluetooth, like previously stated, which means it can connect to my phone or another device using bluetooth and transmit phone calls through the stereo or media for playback. Pretty swanky.

Xplod Model MEX-BT2700 with CD Player, Line In, and Bluetooth

Of course, not everybody is using this. Most of my contacts resort to using an MP3 player in their car, if they are more tech savvy, or they simply use CDs. It also seems like the biggest audio options people opt in for is that huge sub-woofer in the trunk making you bounce an inch off the seat. Sure, you can feel the beat, but does it need to be felt that much?

Anyhow. This is all to ask, what kind of equipment to you rely on in your car? Do you prefer to drive without all that noise and instead contemplating, or has there got to be some tunes jammin’ in the background. Share below in a comment, or even take a quick poll.

Is your vote in? Good. Remember, Find the Beat or The Beat will find you.

  1. #1 by Raquel TWG on April 15, 2010 - 12:51 am

    I’m both a radio and mp3 player person. Radio mostly, just because I’m lucky enough to have one or two really awesome radio stations that play good music all the time. On quick routine drives, the radio really takes no effort. But there are times when I’m in the mood for a certain band and the drive is a little longer, so I bring my Walkman [as in the mp3 player] along. It hooks right up to a 3.5mm AUX jack on the system in my car with a little cable. Pretty spiffy.

    • #2 by thejambi on April 21, 2010 - 8:16 pm

      You are officially “tech savvy.”

Leave a Reply

