Beck: Live Action Movie

This is important.

Beck: Mongolian Chop Squad is a famous anime and manga series created by Harold Sakuishi. The manga started in 2000 and ended in 2008 as one of the Shonen monthly jump series. I found out about this series via an anime network that my parents get back home and as soon as I could I downloaded and watched the whole anime. When I was done with that I went back and read the manga online from the beginning to end, which was great because it is twice as long as the anime. My friends got into the anime quickly, too. The series as a whole is extremely inspiring, especially to musicians who are fighting out there to make it. Despite my hopes for a second season of the anime to be produced it hasn’t…yet. What is being done is a live action movie that I wasn’t excited about at first, but now my thoughts have changed.

What is Beck about, and why am I suddenly super excited for it? The series is about a Japanese middle school student named Yukio Tanaka (Koyuki) who realizes he’s not that unique (even the family-name Tanaka is extremely common in Japan). He meets some friends, get’s invited to a live show and before he knows it he’s listening to music that kicks the crap out of the pop he’d been listening to. Then it happens. He joins the band he went to see as a guitarist after a few of the members have a falling out. The remaining of the series shows how he and the band grow and try to make it in the real world of music and rock.

When it was announced that a live action version would be created in movie form I had mixed feelings regarding the quality of the production. Other anime that I enjoy had been rendered as live actions (Death Note, in particular) which failed to be anywhere near as awesome as their anime/manga counterparts. By the time I’d read about the live action production there was less than a year remaining before its release in Japan. It comes out this fall.

Tonight, when I checked my e-mail I had some stuff about a few links and videos a friend provided on my facebook wall. He’d managed to find a few videos regarding the movie. When I watched them I started freaking out in excitement and picked up my guitar. Here are the videos:

From what I can tell the movie looks amazing. The actors are fairly famous in Japan. From what we’ve read the movie will focus more on the character Ryusuke Minami who is the lead guitarist and creator of the band. As it is the previews make it appear full of energy, passion, and drive, just like the show. I’m rooting for this production and can’t wait for it to be released.

If you’re interested in watching the anime you should be able to do so here. I’ve never used that site (to my knowledge) thus I can’t vouch for its reliability. As soon as this movie is out I will be writing about.

Until next time, Find the Beat of the Beat will find you.

  1. #1 by thejambi on June 27, 2010 - 1:14 pm

    We need to see this as soon as we possibly can. I probably can’t afford to fly to Japan to see it in a theater there, but I know we’ll get it as soon as we can, even if it doesn’t have any subtitles it’ll still be the best.

    But then let’s watch it with subtitles.

  2. #2 by thejambi on June 27, 2010 - 1:18 pm

    Also, that last trailer shows a lot of characters. Me and Jameson enjoyed the appearance of Mr. Saitou.

  3. #3 by thejambi on June 27, 2010 - 1:26 pm

  1. 2010 in review « The Beat Project
  2. It’s Not About YOU! « The Beat Project

Leave a Reply

